Metric Tons of Posthumans: a One Page RPG

Published by

on

I participated in the One Page RPG Jam and had a blast. The open ended but minimalist approach we as designers had to take while creating these RPGs was eye opening. I learned a few things about GIMP, google docs, and editing in general by the time I was done and I had a blast looking at everyone else’s submissions. My favorite was Fluid Realities but I won’t discuss it because it was already the breakout hit of the Jam by far. https://itch.io/jam/one-page-rpg-jam-2023/rate/2225465

My personal pet project Metric Tons of Posthumans is a bit of a love letter to posthuman and transhuman science fiction. I listed my inspiration in the document which you can pick up for free like many of the other one page RPGS. It uses money in a tongue and cheek way to also be your stats. Is the easiest to play? Not really, but its primary inspiration for gameplay mechanics and for the particular form that transhumanism takes is essentially pulled straight from the Eclipse Phase RPG. I have always been fascinated with the level of variety and detail that went in to making it feel like you were really running around in a futuristic society and you at least had a chance to never die.

Here;s the link

https://golem224.itch.io/metric-tons-of-posthumans

In order to get started playing use the random tables to generate at least the starting solar system and any factions that might be active in those areas. The random tables are meant to be interpreted heavily by you and your players. I simply have no one answer for what makes someone a hypercapitalist it just gets the point across that this person likes capitalism. If you want to use a more detailed generator I heavily suggest you look into the sector generator created by Stars Without Number publisher Sine Nomine Publishing which is really one guy writing like a madman with some helpers rather than a company properly. You will have to tweak descriptions to fit the setting or style you’re going for but I wish you luck.

I will be making more rpgs in the future. Currently I have a mecha rpg under construction, a fantasy rpg that is nearing playtesting, and I have several deckbuilding cardgames bouncing around in my head.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started